Blog #5 – Family Dinners

Task: Write a short paragraph describing a family conversation in which it is clear that all parties in the conversation are talking at cross-purposes without listening to each other.

“I think,” Martha says in a speculative tone as she peers over her forkful, “That Italy has a rather nice climate this year.”

With mash potatoes shoved half-way into his mouth, Jamie adds: “Mitchell upgraded his phone today. His old one isn’t even cracked.”

“Lovely dinner tonight, darling.” Seraphina smiles at Martha.

“And Mitchell said-”

“Wouldn’t you like to see the Colosseum in person, Jamie? After you made that diorama last term! It was so gorgeous.”

the-colosseum-2182367_640.jpg
by SungRae_Kim courtesy of Pixabay

“What’s the salmon cooked in?”

“He said he was gonna give it to me for just a hundred bucks. Like come on! That’s so fricking cheap!”

“And I’ve been thinking of getting a tan – a nice healthy glow. Just a bit of natural warmth.” she reaches her hand out to Seraphina, her other spearing a limp piece of asparagus, “Don’t you think I’d look just divine in a sun-kissed look?”

Through a mouthful of the lemon-dressed asparagus, Seraphina smiles at Martha and makes a sound of contentment. She swallows before;

19050098559_7ae9046a2c_o
by Lachlan Hardy

“Magnificent as always, love.”

“And he’s already factory wiped it for me, I can download Messanger and Whatsapp and then I don’t even need credit to text you guys!”

“I was actually just browsing flights, y’know, killing time. Did you know there’s a sale on?”

“I could pay you back!” and Jamie added with a mumble, “Or you could just buy me the phone like every other parent did.”

“Oh, you made the mash just how I like it!”

Colcannon
by TheCulinaryGeek from Chicago, USA

One thought on “Blog #5 – Family Dinners

  1. This reminds me of so many conversations around my dinner table – 5 people of 3 generations, it can get a bit crazy. Excellent grammar and I like how both conversation, as well as descriptions of their actions, was included, I could imagine the scenario in my head very easily. I noticed the pictures too and how they connected to what was being said. Good Job!

    Like

Leave a comment